Team Philippines Bags Four (4) Medals in the 54th International Chemistry Olympiad

The organizers of the PNCO-IChO 2022 congratulate our contestants to the 54th International Chemistry Olympiad for their fine performance: Ron Angelo Gelacio (Philippine Science High School -Main Campus, Bronze Medalist), Aames Juriel Morales (De La Salle University Integrated School – Senior High School Manila Campus, Bronze Medalist), Lemuel Acosta (Philippine Science High School – Central Luzon Campus, Honorable Mention), and Anne Maricar Maralit ( Philippine Science High School – Main Campus, Honorable Mention). Thank you for your hard work, sacrifice, and for honoring our country on the world stage. We are grateful for your dedication, and for inspiring other aspiring young scientists. Keep the fire burning!

We also wish to thank our coaches and coordinators:

  1. Dr. Nestor Valera (ADMU, Inorganic Chemistry)
  2. Dr. Rob Nuguid (Linde Engineering – Germany, Inorganic Chemistry
  3. Dr. Ian Ken Dimzon (ADMU, Analytical Chemistry)
  4. Dr. Raymond Malabed (DLSU, Analytical Chemistry)
  5. Dr. Gil Claudio (UP-Diliman, Physical Chemistry)
  6. Dr. Christopher Robidillo (UP-Manila, Physical Chemistry Coach and Head
  7. Dr. Irene Villasenor (UP-Diliman, Organic Chemistry)
  8. Dr. Eric Punzalan (DLSU, Organic Chemistry)
  9. Dr. Virgilio Ebajo (DLSU, Organic Chemistry)
  10. Ms. Valerie Miclat-Mariano, MSc, R.Ch. (ADMU, Organic Chemistry)
  11. Dr. Hilbert Magpantay (DLSU- Biochemistry)
  12. Dr. Maria Karmella Apaya (West Visayas State University)
  13. Dr. Jose Andaya (PSHS-Calabarzon Campus, National Representative to the
  14. Prof. Jennifer Sy (PLM, PNCO National Secretariat)

We are very grateful to Dr. Glenn V. Alea, President of the Philippine Federation of Chemistry Societies and its Board for supporting the ICHO Teams throughout the years.

We are also deeply indebted to the UNILAB Foundation especially to Executive Director Lilibeth Aristorenas and Mr. Larry Souribio for their generous support.

We also wish to thank Dr. Lawrence Madriaga, the Campus Director of the Philippine Science High School – Main Campus, and his team for housing and providing the much-needed facilities and infrastructure for team PHL to join IChO remotely. To our dear Invigilators Ms. Diannmar Briones and Mr. Jez Ambrocio, thank you for facilitating and
supervising the remote ICHO examination.

Congratulations and thank you once again to everyone who supported Team PHL.