PACT Chemistry Week Celebration

By Jose M. Andaya

The Philippine Association of Chemistry Teachers, Inc. or PACT, in cooperation with the Adamson University, celebrated Chemistry Week through a Seminar-Workshop entitled “Brightening-Up the Future of Chemistry Education” on February 21, 2015 at the Adamson University. The celebration was attended by 53 participants from Luzon to Visayas.

PACT Chemistry Week Seminar-Workshop: Brightening-Up the Future of Chemistry Education

During the morning session, Dr. Marilou G. Nicolas of UP Manila, talked about “Global Education and ASEAN Integration 2015;” Dr. Ernesto J. Del Rosario of UPLB discussed the “Applications of Digital Image Analysis in Chemistry, “ and Dr. Fortunato Sevilla III of UST discussed “Light and Chemical Information” .

In the afternoon, the participants were made to choose to attend any of the following workshops:

  1. Creative Chemistry: Light and Heat
  2. Creative Chemistry: Light Emission (both workshops (1) and (2) were given by teachers from the University of Santo Tomas)
  3. Different Shades of Chemistry by the Philippine Science High School Main Campus
  4. Colorful Electrolysis by the University of the Philippines Manila.

Most participants were able to attend two of the four workshops, with all enjoying and learning as indicated in the evaluation forms they submitted afterwards. They agreed that this year’s Chemistry Week celebration surpassed their expectations.

Before the day ended, the new set of PACT officers for the school year 2014 – 2015 took their oath of office. The oath-taking was administered by Dr. Armando M. Guidote Jr., Pressident of the PFCS or the Philippine Federation of Chemistry Societies. These are the new PACT officers:

Dr. Myrna S. Rodriguez of UPLB – President
Dr. Jose M. Andaya of PSHSMC – Executive Vice President
Dr. Fideliz S. Tuy of SBCM – Vice President for External Affairs
Ma. Theresa B. Bonus of JRU – Vice President for Internal Affairs
Jasper Perez of OLFU – Asst. VP Internal
Digna T. Bal of MSHS – Executive Secretary
Mary Jane Apuada of PLM and Lorna D. Tamboong of MTC – Asst. Secretaries
Annabelle J. Monzon of SBCA – Treasurer
Florencia N. Male of RIS – Asst. Treasurer
Aleli V. Lozano of CEU – Auditor
Garry Galvez of THS – PRO
Jonathan P. Derez of AVVHS and Emil L. Escalante of LPUC – Junior PROs
Emmanuel V. Garcia of DLSU, Dr. Voltaire G. Organo of UPM, Rebecca S. De Borja of MC, Ruel Avila of PNU – Directors
Dr. Luciana V. Ilao of UPM, Ma. Cristina D. Padolina, Dr. Betty Lontoc of CEU and Nora Cordero – Consultants.