2014 National Children’s On-the-Spot Chemistry Poster Making Competition Winners

By Glenn Tan

The Philippine Federation of Chemistry Societies (PFCS) recently concluded the 4th National Children’s Chemistry On-the-Spot Poster Making Competition. The awarding ceremony was held during the 29th Philippine Chemistry Congress last April 9-11, 2014 at the Villa Caceres Hotel in Naga City, Camarines Sur. Daniel Aaron Lucban (Bambang Elementary School) won first place; Carlos Miguel Lacson (Ambray Elementary School) won second place; and Ainer Brean Padrigo (Philippine Tiong Se Academy) won third place.

Deniel Aaron Lucban (Bambang Elementary School) FIRST PLACE

Deniel Aaron Lucban
(Bambang Elementary School)

Carlos Miguel Lacson (Ambay Elementary School) SECOND PLACE

Carlos Miguel Lacson
(Ambay Elementary School)

Ainer Brean Padrigo (Tiong Se Academy) THIRD PLACE

Ainer Brean Padrigo
(Tiong Se Academy)

The Poster Making Competition, open to students in Grades 4-7 from private and public schools all over the country, provided an opportunity for its participants to show artistic ability and critical thinking. The elimination round was held on February 15, 2014 at the following host schools.

  1. Ateneo de Davao University
  2. Ateneo de Manila University
  3. De La Salle University (DLSU)
  4. Mindanao State University – Iligan Institute of Technology
  5. Silliman University
  6. University of the Philippines – Diliman
  7. University of the Philippines – Los Banos
  8. University of Santo Tomas
  9. University of San Carlos
  10. Xavier University

Contestants were given 2 hours and 30 minutes to create a poster on the theme “Health, Energy, and Chemistry”, and poster submissions were evaluated on creativity, originality, and relevance to the theme. Three local winners were each given PHP 2000 and qualified as finalists for the national award. The Board of Judges, comprised of Armando Guidote, Jr. PhD (PFCS President), Emmanuel Garcia (PACT), and Nick Tan (ICP, St. Scholastica’s College), selected one poster for each of the top three national awards. The first prize winner received PHP 7,000 and free overnight accomodations and round-trip airfare tickets to Naga City, while 2nd and 3rd prize winners received PHP 5,000, and PHP 3,000, respectively.

The Poster Making Competition was coordinated by Glenn V. Alea, PhD. (DLSU) and was sponsored by C&E Publishing, Inc., CHEMREZ Technologies, Shell, and Boysen The No. 1 Paint.