ICP-SOMIN Gives Excellence in Chemistry Awards to Top Students

The Integrated Chemists of the Philippines Southern Mindanao Chapter (ICP-SOMIN) gave Excellence in Chemistry Year 2013 Awards to outstanding high school students last 16 February 2013 at the Ateneo de Davao University.  The following are the awardees:

  1. Lilibeth Diane Yu* – Davao Christian High School Academy
    Carlo Antonio Nazareno* – Colegio de San Ignacio
  2. Keanu Polo Bonocan – Philippine Science High School
  3. Earl Christian Te – Ateneo de Davao University
  4. Paul Dave Panzo – Sta. Ana National High School
  5. Dewy Rose Escueta – Davao Central High School
  6. Kent Raven Olario – University of Immaculate Conception
  7. Edward Jan Bacalso – Davao City Special National High School
  8. Victor Patrick Agdasiw – Baguio National High School
  9. Zuhair Ali – Brokenshire Science High School
  10. Lara Francess Rañises – Philippine Women’s College of Davao

High schools from the region submitted one nominee each for the award.  The criteria consisted of the average grade in Chemistry (60%), participation in Chemistry-related contests, quiz bees, science quests and other related contests (30%), and narrative report of the character and excellence as exemplified by the student to be attested by a Chemistry Teacher (10%).

The event was held back-to-back with the National Children’s On-the-Spot Poster Making Contest. Support for the events were given by Chemrez Technologies, Dow Chemical Company, Boysen, Shell, Perkin-Elmer and C&E Publishing.